“Gita Sanskrit” teaches Sanskrit through Bhagavad-gita

—–Original Message—–
From: Vidvan Gauranga Das <vidvan.gauranga@gmail.com>
To: sanskrit@cheerful.com
Sent: Wed, Nov 10, 2010 1:03 am
Subject: “Gita Sanskrit”

Dear Sir/Madam,

Hare Krishna. I am writing this to inform you that we, at ISKCON's world headquarters 
Mayapur, West Bengal, India, have started a new online course teaching Sanskrit. 

The course is titled "Gita Sanskrit" and it teaches Sanskrit through the text of 
Bhagavad-gita at 

http://courses.mayapur.com/gita-sanskrit. 

If you so desire, you can put up this information at your website as it is one more 
resource for learning Sanskrit. 

Yours in the service of God and humanity, 

Vidvan Gauranga dasa 

4 thoughts on ““Gita Sanskrit” teaches Sanskrit through Bhagavad-gita

    • Dear Dr. Rajesh Gupta,

      At my blog the posts under “Distance-learning Sanskrit” were before I started the posts under “Learning Sanskrit by fresh approach”.

      The logic was prompted by trying to answer the question, “Why do I want to learn Sanskrit ?” I was also thinking of why my grandson should want to learn Sanskrit. At that point I thought, he should be able to recite verses in Sanskrit, not parrot-like, but understanding the meaning. That is how I got the idea to start with the commonly known prayer त्वमेव माता च पिता त्वमेव…

      You will notice that I did introduce the idea of Sandhi त्वम् + एव = त्वमेव One cannot understand a verse unless one is able to see every word separately. In devising the glossary itself, I detailed all three words त्वम्, एव, and त्वमेव separately.

      As the lessons progressed, I introduced more and more detailing, including grammar and derivation (etymology) of words.

      May I mention some observation on why people want to learn Sanskrit. Sanskrita Bharati, I understand, was started in US. But there are many branches/centers in India. I notice that they are enthusiastic about spreading Sanskrit as a spoken language. I am not much convinced of that. I have noticed that people make too many mistakes. And a faulty Sanskrit is not Sanskrit. Sanskrit means refined. It is refined with some rules of grammar, so that there will be no mistakes. If one has to tolerate mistakes, then why do that with Sanskrit ? You have all the vernacular languages, which tolerate all accents and variations. Even American English is different from British English. Even Shakesperean English is much different from modern English. That is okay with English. I do not think it should be so with Sanskrit.

      I would like interest to learn Sanskrit to start from interest to learn verses, verse-by-verse. More verses one would have learnt, more Sanskrit one has learnt ! That is the basic thought in my blog.

      I would like to know whether my posts give that experience.

      Cordially, S. L. Abhyankar
      सस्नेहम्, अभ्यंकरकुलोत्पन्नः श्रीपादः | “श्रीपतेः पदयुगं स्मरणीयम् ।”

Leave a Reply

